To The Moon and Back

July 25, 2010 § 13 Comments

I will never stop
Wishing for you to love me
Into each of my tomorrows
My future should be laced
With nothing short of
All my heart’s desires
And you, My Astronaut
Are my biggest one

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to To The Moon and Back

  • slpmartin says:

    Just a lovely sentiment and emotion in the poem…I love the lines about “wishing….ino eacho of my tomorrows’…just a brilliant line.

    • I am very much trying to live in the “now”. Being as present as possible to be concerned of only what I can control. That line is my way of cheating, not to the extreme, like being on a diet and having a forkful of chocolate pie instead of eating three “thin” slices. Glad you liked it and flattered you called it Brilliant : )

  • buttercup600 says:

    I love the flow and emotion in this poem…awesome work x

  • Curtis says:

    Nice poem! I have seen that title before. Isn’t it a reference to a book or something?

    • I was fifteen, I was in love, and in the room of my boyfriend’s younger cousin. I picked up a book called “Guess How Much I Love You”. And out of all the pages of the book the “I love you all the way to the moon and back” stuck with me. It became my expression of the amount of love I had for my very first love, my high school sweetheart. The love that sees past forever. The love that can’t die because there is just so much of it. So yes it came from a book but it is in reference to the man my heart will never let go.

  • lifeasahole says:

    Oh my god you are a dreamer! The purest of souls! Your poetry needs to be read by everyone; if everyone read your poems the world would be a better place. I mean, I know that this is just a poem about a love, but it’s so much more than that. It’s about never giving up on your dreams, which is something that every kid is taught not to believe now – kids are taught to give up their dreams and do something that will make them a lot of money. And it’s about how love never dies, how love doesn’t just stop from one day to the next which is such a comforting thought – knowing that tomorrow, and the next day, someone will love someone which is the strongest of threads for a better world. Apologies for the long and rambling comment, I just really like this poem haha. ~Spencer Hudson (ps: I love the astronaut line)

    • Spencer you sing to my heart. No sorries for the elongated comment…ever… c(: Thank you for seeing depth in a love that was once forgotten and is relentless at settling for anything less than the universe of possibilities. You are the best!! The cynic turned to mush ❤ ( P.s. if you're going to the moon you gotta there's only career that can get you there :0) )

  • Jingle says:

    http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/07/pick-one-or-two-to-share-follow-rule-no.html

    check to see if you would like to take one or two awards from there and share with poets who appreciate your work…
    cheers!
    Happy Tuesday!
    🙂

  • This is really beautiful…! Like the way you’ve woven the words so well.. Its amazing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading To The Moon and Back at Splash of Expression.

meta

